skip navigation
Michigan Legislative Black Caucus Michigan Legislative Black Caucus Michigan State Representatives

State of Michigan Capitol BuildingAbout Us

The Michigan Legislative Black Caucus is a coalition of 19 state legislators committed
to ensuring that all citizens of our state have equal opportunities. The caucus includes
members of both the state Senate and the state House of Representatives.

Our mission is captured in our slogan: Legislative power with purpose.

The Black Caucus serves as a partnership between residents and legislators. Our members believe that legislators and residents can affect the most change by working in tandem.

We sponsor events and programs around the state to make this partnership as productive as possible. The events allow legislators to share vital information and also serve as an opportunity for residents to express their opinions and concerns to the people who represent them.

We invite you to join us as we work toward a Michigan that grants all its citizens equal access, equal justice and equal opportunity.

2013 - 2014 Michigan Legislative Black Caucus

standing from left: Rep Woodrow Stanley; Sen. Morris Hood III; Rep. Rashida Tlaib; Rep. David E. Nathan; Rep. Fred Durhal, Jr.; Rep. Harvey Santana; Rep. Alberta Tinsley Talabi; Sen. Vincent Gregory; Rep. Sam Singh; Sen. Bert Johnson

seated from left: Rep David Rutledge, Chaplin; Rep. Brian Banks, Secretary; Rep. Stacy Erwin Oakes, 1st Vice Chair; Rep. Thomas F. Stallworth III, Chairman; Sen. Virgil Smith, 2nd Vice Chair; Rep. Rudy Hobbs, Treasurer; Sen. Coleman Young, Historian

Thomas F. Stallworth III Representative (D-Detroit 7th District), Chairman
Stacy Erwin Oakes Representative (D-Saginaw 95th District), First Vice Chairperson
Virgil Smith Senator (D-Detroit 4th District), Second Vice Chairperson
Rudy Hobbs Representative (D-Southfield 35th District), Treasurer
Brian Banks Representative (D-Detroit 1st District), Secretary
Coleman A. Young II Senator (D-Detroit 1st District), Historian
David Rutledge Representative (D-Ypsilanti 54th District), Chaplin

Senator Vincent Gregory (D-Southfield 14th Dist)

Senator Morris Hood III (D-Detroit 3rd Dist)

Senator Tupac A. Hunter (D-Detroit 5th Dist)

Senator Bert Johnson (D-Detroit 2nd Dist)

Representative Fred Durhal, Jr. (D-Detroit 5th Dist)

Representative David E. Nathan (D-Detroit 8th Dist)

Representative John Olumba (D-Detroit 3rd Dist)

Representative Harvey Santana (D-Detroit 9th Dist)

Representative Sam Singh (D-East Lansing, 69th Dist)

Representative Woodrow Stanley (D-Flint 34th Dist)

Representative Alberta Tinsley Talabi (D-Detroit 2nd Dist)

Representative Rashida Tlaib (D-Detroit 6th Dist)


Legislative Power With Purpose”
State Representative George Cushingberry Jr.


We can never lose focus of who we are and our purpose to be advocates for those who are unable to speak for themselves. We must strive for excellence in all our endeavors, and work to enhance the quality of life in the communities in which we live. We must never lose sight of the issues that challenge us, and we can overcome those challenges by fighting and demanding CHANGE!

State Representative John Espinoza

This is a great time to celebrate our history and culture. Together we can build and expand our communities through unity and collective actions. Welcome to the Michigan Legislative Black Caucus, where we believe in "Legislative Power With Purpose"!